BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
Mohan03
Fluorite | Level 6

Hi,

Firstly, am using SAS (ver - 9.4) on Mainframes.

Secondly on the issue, I used Proc SQL to get some data from a Mainframe Dataset, then used a SET statement to filter some criteria. Now that being done, I have 2 variables (RDE_LEN & RDE_ALL). RDE is just a segment in simple terms and RDE_LEN has the whole length of the RDE_ALL (which has multiple segments like N1, N2 etc with different lengths).

I used the traditional SAS code to break the segments and get the values as needed. Now I am trying to do it via a Macro as this segment break happens at multiple places of the program.

So when I try to pass the RDE length value, say 3000 bytes, am getting the Variable name i.e. RDE_LEN instead of 3000.

Not sure where I made the mistake (plus I am new to Macros).

I have attached the all the code snippets below , pls have a look and advise. Also if you need more info, please revert, will provide them.

Thanks,

Mohan

Code snippets:

Current working SAS code without Macro:

DATA BASE001;
SET QUERY001;
WHERE SUBSTR(INTMSGID,1,3) IN ('A01', 'A02', 'A04');
CNT = 1;
DO UNTIL(CNT >= RDE_LEN);
SEG_HEX = PUT(SUBSTR(RDE_ALL,CNT,2),HEX4.);
SEG_LEN = INPUT(SEG_HEX,HEX4.);
SEG_RDE = SUBSTR(RDE_ALL,CNT,SEG_LEN);
SEG_NAM = SUBSTR(SEG_RDE,3,2);
CNT = CNT + 2 + SEG_LEN;
SELECT;
WHEN (SEG_NAM = 'N1') DO;
N1_FBK = SUBSTR(SEG_RDE,007,004);
N1_DCCI = SUBSTR(SEG_RDE,011,001);
N1_EMVPOS = PUT(SUBSTR(SEG_RDE,012,001),HEX2.);
N1_EMVEXP = SUBSTR(SEG_RDE,013,006);
N1_BMAPS = PUT(SUBSTR(SEG_RDE,021,003),HEX6.);
N1_FCR = SUBSTR(SEG_RDE,024,001);
END;
OTHERWISE;
END;
END;

Macro definition:

********************************* Top of Data **********************************
options symbolgen mprint mlogic;
%macro _brk_seg(lngth);
%put &lngth;
%mend _brk_seg;
******************************** Bottom of Data ********************************

Macro Invocation:

DATA BASE001;
SET QUERY001;
%_brk_seg(RDE_LEN);
RUN;

MLOGIC Output: