BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
🔒 This topic is solved and locked. Need further help from the community? Please sign in and ask a new question.
cougar300
Calcite | Level 5
I don't understand what is happening.  I'm no expert at the macro language, but I just don't understand what SAS is doing.

I have a list of brands in a macro variable name1-name13 and am iterating through the list to see if the variable brand is equal to the brand that is being iterated on.

%macro doit;
%do i=1 %to &NObs;
 %put # # # Processing &&Name&i # # #;

%if brand = &&Name&i %then newvar=0 ; (this will actually do something else - this is just to test the comparison)

%end;
%mend;
%doit;

Log file:

MLOGIC(DOIT):  Beginning execution.
MLOGIC(DOIT):  %DO loop beginning; index variable I; start value is 1; stop value is 13; by value is 1.  
MLOGIC(DOIT):  %PUT # # # Processing &&Name&i # # #
# # # Processing Brand A # # #
ERROR: A character operand was found in the %EVAL function or %IF condition where a numeric operand is required. The condition was:
       brand = &&Name&i
ERROR: The macro DOIT will stop executing.

Why is &&Name&i resolving fine for the put statement, but not for the if then comparison line?

Thanks

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Tom
Super User Tom
Super User

Like this:

data WORK.start;
  infile datalines dsd truncover ;
  input Brand $ Amount Ratio ;
datalines;
Brand A,20,.4
Brand B,16,.5
Brand C,12,.25
Brand D,8,.25
Brand E,14,0
;
proc sql;
  create table want as 
  select a.brand,a.amount,a.ratio
       , b.brand as brand2,b.amount*a.ratio as new_amount
  from start a
     , start b
  ;
quit;
proc report data=want ;
  columns brand amount ratio new_amount,brand2;
  define brand / group;
  define amount / group;
  define ratio / group;
  define brand2 / across ' ';
  define new_amount / sum;
run;

image.png

View solution in original post

24 REPLIES 24
PaigeMiller
Diamond | Level 26
%if &brand = &&Name&i %then %let newvar=0 ;