BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
ChrisNZ
Tourmaline | Level 20
1. You don't need an index if the tables are sorted.
2. Try creating the table in the SPDE library. Not in AAA.
JJP1
Pyrite | Level 9

Hi @ChrisNZ,

Would you please help how can i create dataset in SPDE library as i am new to SPDE library please.

sorry to trouble you with simple queries.

i was assuming that if i run below statement then AAA library will be converted as SPDE library.please guide me

libname SPEEDY spde "%sysfunc(pathname(AAA))" compress=binary partsize=500g;

ChrisNZ
Tourmaline | Level 20
Runnng the libnane statement creates the library.
So then you have 2 libraries. No conversion.
Just use it like you use the AAA library.
ScottBass
Rhodochrosite | Level 12

@ChrisNZ wrote:
1. You don't need an index if the tables are sorted.
2. Try creating the table in the SPDE library. Not in AAA.

To clarify, you need an index if you are using index key lookup (my previous code).  You may not need the index if you're using proc sql and your data is sorted.

You will benefit from reading this:  http://support.sas.com/techsup/technote/ts553.html.

Use the proc sql _method operand to see if proc sql is sorting your data before joining.  If proc sql is sorting, that will be a huge performance and utility space hit.  I have this personal saying "sorting is evil".  Often you need it, but avoid it when you can (for example sorting your large data overnight).  If at all possible, you want to coax proc sql NOT TO SORT YOUR TABLES.

See also:

http://support.sas.com/documentation/cdl/en/lrcon/62955/HTML/default/viewer.htm#a000766829.htm

http://support.sas.com/documentation/cdl/en/lrdict/64316/HTML/default/viewer.htm#a000131184.htm

https://support.sas.com/resources/papers/proceedings/proceedings/sugi31/131-31.pdf (search on sortedby)

https://support.sas.com/resources/papers/proceedings/proceedings/sugi29/127-29.pdf (search on sortedby)