BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
barb3126
Calcite | Level 5

I am trying to run SAS on a HPC with 48 cores but my code is only using about 5% of the available CPU's. I have set the CPUCOUNT to 48 in the config file so I'm not sure why it isn't working. Has anyone else run into this problem?

9 REPLIES 9
SASKiwi
PROC Star

What OS is running on your HPC and what SAS products? My understanding is you need to use HPC-enabled SAS products like Visual Analytics for single SAS jobs to fully utilise HPC.

barb3126
Calcite | Level 5

The OS is Linux and this is a super computer at my academic institution - unfortunately, they provide little to no support to SAS users. I am running a large simulation that is taking hours to run. I have implemented parallel processing but am not seeing any improvement in run time and CPU usage isn't going up. I am an experienced SAS programmer but haven't used parallel processing before. The code runs pretty quickly on my laptop when I run a small number of simulations but the same number of simulations is much slower on the HPC. I am wondering if I have not set the options up correctly or am missing something. Thanks for any help you can give! 

Reeza
Super User
Do you have a SAS server license or just a desktop? Did you also change the memory options to increase size?
SASKiwi
PROC Star

What SAS product are you using for the simulation? How are you doing your parallel processing? If you are using Base SAS then I guess you are using custom code for the parallel processing or are you using some other method?

Does your simulation use IO much? If so then that could be what is slowing you down.

barb3126
Calcite | Level 5