BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
🔒 This topic is solved and locked. Need further help from the community? Please sign in and ask a new question.
SharonZS
Obsidian | Level 7

Hi All,

I'm renaming several sets of permanent SAS data sets using a SAS pipe -- which I'm still learning how to use...

Each set of of data sets has a non-continuous index (e.g causal3adj99rep2_1,  causal3adj99rep2_9, causal3adj99rep2_14...).

I'm  renaming the data sets with a continuous index that goes from 101 to 121 (causal3adj99_101  - causal3adj99_121).

I used a SAS pipe to create a list of all of the permanent SAS data sets that I need to rename (outputs a data set list with all of the names of my specified permanent data sets). I then created my new names & index for each of the data sets. I now have no idea how to link the new dat set names to the permanent SAS data sets in my dirrectory. Does anyone hafve any suggestions or example syntax?  

Here's my syntax thus far:

Filename DIRLIST1 pipe 'dir "E:\AC estimates\causal_matrix_rep2\causal_matrix_output7_Rep2\causal3adj99rep2_*.sas7bdat" /b ';

/* Creates list of permanent data sets to be renamed*/

data dirlist1 ;

infile dirlist1;

input file_name $19.;

run;

data dirlist1;

set dirlist1;

/* Breaks names of data sets into 2 parts-- retaining first part and replacing second*/

firstpart=substr(file_name,1,12);

strat=substr(file_name,18,2);

stratnum=strat+0;

run;

proc sort data=dirlist1;

by stratnum;

run;

data dirlist1;

set dirlist1;

num=_n_;

index=100+ num;

file_new=catx('_', firstpart, index);

run;

I'll be very appreciative of any suggestions anyone may have for how to best attach the new series of names to my permanent SAS data sets. Also wondering if this question might be better suited for one of the other forums?

Many thanks!

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
learsaas
Quartz | Level 8