BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
🔒 This topic is solved and locked. Need further help from the community? Please sign in and ask a new question.
uyuyuyu
Calcite | Level 5

Hi everyone,

I am new to SAS and a non-native English speaker so I apologize in advance if my question or sentences doesn't make sens.

I would like to refer to array variables in a sum function inside a do loop so that the value of the argument of the sum function changes at each iteration.

Here is an example of my data set:

ID

CUMBE1

CUMBE2

CUMBE3

CUMBE4

CUMBE5

CUMBE6

Valid

Where the variables CUMBE1 to 6 are the test results of 6 successive blood test, valid a variable that I would like to create. 0, 10 or 11 are valid results, 22 stand for missing value.

I would like to eliminate the individuals/observations for which more than one test is missing in between 2 valid tests. So if I have successive “22” at the beginning or at the end it is still valid, what we can’t have is a valid, 2 or more successive invalid and then a valid again, like in the third line of my example.

To do so, I tried to create a variable named “valid” that would equal 1 for the valid observations and 0 for the invalid. I tried several different codes and ways, including using 0/1 value instead of the numeric 0-10-11-22, by using the ARRAY statement.

At first I wanted SAS to count the number of "22" in between valid values, and if >1 valid =0, but I couldn’t find how to do so.

So I tried here to tell SAS that if the sum of the array-variables in-between 2 valid values > 44 (that is at most 11+ 22+ 11 ), then it is not valid.

Here is my last try:

data IBR.validA;
	set IBR.valid1;
	validA=1;
	array cum{6} cumBE1-cumBE6;

do i=1 to 6;
		do n=1 to 5 while (i+n<7);
			if cum{i}<22 and cum{i+n}<22 and sum(of cum{i}-cum{i+n})>44 then
				do;
					validA=0;
					leave;
				end;
			else;
		end;

if validA=0 then
			do;
				leave;
			end;
	end;
run;

And this is the message in the log: