BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
🔒 This topic is solved and locked. Need further help from the community? Please sign in and ask a new question.
Appy18
Calcite | Level 5

Hello all,

I had a query.Folder all_data contains multiple .sas7bdat files. I need to read it . I know how to read sinlge file but cant figure out anything regardig this.

I am new to sas, plz guide me a little.

sample data_

all_data

abc.sas7bdat

xzy.sas7bdat

pqr.sas7bdat

stv.sas7bdat

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Patrick
Opal | Level 21

@HannaZhang 

If you just need a single libref which includes SAS tables from multiple folders then there is no need to physically copy these tables into a single folder. Instead define a libname which includes multiple paths. 

You can look-up how that's done by searching using a terms like "SAS Library Concatenation"

N.B: If using a concatenated library then SAS traverses the paths in the order in which they are listed in the library definition.

-  in case of the same table name (file name) existing in multiple folders SAS will return the first table found

-  if creating (writing) a new table (or replacing an existing table) then SAS will create this table in the first folder in the concatenated path 

View solution in original post

8 REPLIES 8
Jagadishkatam
Amethyst | Level 16

You can assign a library with the location where the datasets are located and then use a data step to read the datasets.

libname source '~path of folder with datasets';

data want;
set source.x1 ;
run;

data want2;
set source.x2;
run;

Thanks,
Jag
Appy18
Calcite | Level 5

thanks @Jagadishkatam, but i think this way i have to define all the files in my folder .(correct me if i am wrong). I  don't want to do that.

LinusH
Tourmaline | Level 20

"Read" is quite vague.

Explain how you need to process these tables and then we can guide you.

Data never sleeps
Appy18
Calcite | Level 5