BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
🔒 This topic is solved and locked. Need further help from the community? Please sign in and ask a new question.
PS1214
Calcite | Level 5

Hello,

I am very new to SAS and I was wondering how I could change the YearMon date into another format.

I did it successfully by using the comment on line 4 by removing the "M", but I do not know how to do it without that code.

Maybe there is an informat that I am missing, as I have already tried anydtdte32 and yymm.

I am trying to do it in simple way.

Thank you for your time.

SAS.png

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
PaigeMiller
Diamond | Level 26

Okay, so obviously your variable YEARMON is not a valid SAS date, it most likely is a character string. This is an important distinction. In order to change this to a valid SAS date, you must use an informat that matches the format of the character string, and I am not aware of such an informat. (There is the YYMMN. informat but that does not allow the letter M in the date).

So, you will have to parse the value of character variable yearmon into numeric year and numeric month.

data datechange;
    set pg1.eu_occ;
    newdate = mdy(input(substr(yearmon,1,4),4.),1,input(substr(yearmon,6,2),2.);
    format newdate date9.;
run;

--
Paige Miller

View solution in original post

11 REPLIES 11
PaigeMiller
Diamond | Level 26

You don't say what result you want, what format you would like to see your dates displayed as.

However, looking at your code, I think all you have to do is change the format statement to something like this:

format newdate date9.;

You can choose any valid SAS date format to obtain the result you want.

The 2017M09 comes directly from the format statement that you are using, yymm10. — and any other valid format statement will change the appearance of the date, but will not change the underlying numeric SAS date value.