BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
🔒 This topic is solved and locked. Need further help from the community? Please sign in and ask a new question.
biglerc
Obsidian | Level 7

Hi everyone,

I am fairly new to Proc Report and am struggling with a requirement.  I am using ODS to output a dataset to Excel, and I need to conditionally format a cell based on the value of another variable. (My code is below).

Requirement:  If the value of visnd = 1 then the FU30DALD variable should be grey for that row.  The whole row shouldn't be grey, just that cell under FU30DALD.

My dataset contains all the variables I am referencing in the compute block.

I have this error in my log: 

"ERROR: Invalid column specification in CALL DEFINE" with  "NOTE: Argument 1 to function DEFINE(' '[12 of 100 characters shown],'style','style={backg'[12 of 27 characters shown]) at line 2 column 7 is invalid."

Any guidance is appreciated!

Current code:

proc report data=final nowd headline headskip spacing=3 split='|' missing ls=256 ps=42 ;

column dummy1 _all_ ;

define dummy1 / noprint;
define FU30DALD / display;
define visnd / display;

*if FU30 not done then grey out the FU30DALD cell;
compute dummy1;
     if (visnd = 1) then do;
          call define (FU30DALD,'style','style={background=lightgray}');
     end;
endcomp;

run;

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Reeza
Super User
You need to add quotes to the variable name.

call define ("FU30DALD",'style','style={background=lightgray}');

If you're using a standard reference, like _col_, _row_ then you need to not include the quotes.

View solution in original post

6 REPLIES 6
ballardw
Super User

Does your variable FU30DALD ever have the value "12 of 100 characters shown" or have a format that would show that?

From the documentation:

CALL DEFINE (column-id | _ROW_, < ' attribute-name', value>

Required Arguments

column-id