BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
🔒 This topic is solved and locked. Need further help from the community? Please sign in and ask a new question.
Phil_NZ
Barite | Level 11

Hi all SAS Users,

Today I faced this question and I still cannot find out why I get it wrongly

Phil_NZ_0-1617523042918.png

To me, there are two correct answers for this question. I cannot find the reason why the option a is wrong. CATS just simply concatenate all the word together without trimming or else and I think it is right in this case.

Warmest regards,

Thank you for your help, have a fabulous and productive day! I am a novice today, but someday when I accumulate enough knowledge, I can help others in my capacity.
1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Patrick
Opal | Level 21

Option a) using cat() - not cats() - concatenates without any trimming as you write and for this reason would leave all the trailing blanks in City untouched. You would end up with a string like: Athens         , Greece

View solution in original post

4 REPLIES 4
Patrick
Opal | Level 21

Option a) using cat() - not cats() - concatenates without any trimming as you write and for this reason would leave all the trailing blanks in City untouched. You would end up with a string like: Athens         , Greece

ballardw
Super User

Real simple to TRY the actual code.

data test;
   length city $ 9 country $ 11;
   input city country;
   citycountry= cat(city,',  ',country);
datalines;
Athens Greece
;

The lengths for the variables were set using the longest value shown for any of the displayed values.

Since pictures are involved can't really tell whether the comma and spaces includes two or three spaces but it should be somewhat obvious with the code above.

Phil_NZ
Barite | Level 11

Hi @ballardw 

Thank you for your explanation, but there is one point I am confusing if I get you wrongly.

@ballardw wrote:
The lengths for the variables were set using the longest value shown for any of the displayed values.