BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
🔒 This topic is solved and locked. Need further help from the community? Please sign in and ask a new question.
saraturbow
Calcite | Level 5

Hello! I am studying hospital admissions and readmissions and am trying to figure out how to concatenate two variables so that SAS creates the same value of the variable whether the patient was admitted first to hospital A then hospital B, or first to hospital B then A.

The best (clumsy) way I could come up with was to concatenate admission hospital-readmission hospital and then readmission hospital-admission hospital variables in different data sets, merge them, and then add their counts. The issue with this is that I am then double counting admissions. Thanks!

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Reeza
Super User

Sort them alphabetically first, assuming that names will be identical. Using that rule the two same hospitals should always appear in the same order. I also upcased them, and you may need compress/trim if the names are not 100% identical each time.

HospitalStart = upcase(Hospital1);
HospitalEnd = upcase(Hospital2);
call sortc(HospitalStart, HospitalEnd);
want = catx("-", HospitalStart, HospitalEnd);

You could probably nest those in some fashion but I spelled it out so it's clear how it works.

data have;
input admissionhospid $ readmissionhospid $ ;
cards;
A                           B
B                           A
A                           C
B                           C
;;;;
run;

data want;
set have;

HospitalStart = upcase(admissionhospid);
HospitalEnd = upcase(readmissionhospid);
option1 = catx("-", HospitalStart, HospitalEnd);

if admissionhospid < readmissionhospid then option2 = catx("-", admissionhospid, readmissionhospid );
else option2 = catx("-", readmissionhospid, admissionhospid );

run;

Results:

Obs	admissionhospid	readmissionhospid	HospitalStart	HospitalEnd	option1	option2
1	A	B	A	B	A-B	A-B
2	B	A	A	B	A-B	A-B
3	A	C	A	C	A-C	A-C
4	B	C	B	C	B-C	B-C