BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
ashiah
Fluorite | Level 6

Hello everyone,

I'm relatively new to SAS, having previously worked extensively with R. Currently, I'm using SAS during my co-op placement. While reviewing the code written by the previous co-op student, I came across something that confused me.

The SAS code contains a statement like this

"if cough =1 or wheeze=1 or ... =1, then symp=1".

However, I couldn't find any columns with names like cough, wheeze, or others mentioned in the SAS dataset that was read.

In R, it will only work/run when it has the column named as this. Could anyone help me with this? 

12 REPLIES 12
Kurt_Bremser
Super User

Maxim 2: Read the Log.

If a variable is used which is not in an incoming dataset, or assigned a value somewhere in the code, an "uninitialized" NOTE is written to the log.

ashiah
Fluorite | Level 6

Hi Kurt,

If a variable is used which is not in an incoming dataset, but the code could run. There is no error in SAS log.

Thanks.

Chloe

ashiah
Fluorite | Level 6

Sorry, I mean the variables are used not in my read in the dataset. At least, no column name matched.

Reeza
Super User
We can't answer why that occurs, for that answer you'll need to check with the previous student. Or at minimum post the full code.

It could be as simple as an incorrect version of the coop students code or bad programming.
ashiah
Fluorite | Level 6

Hi Reeza,

Due to confidentiality, I revised part of the variable names. But the partial code would look like that,

libnmae data1 "xxxx\xxxxx\xxxxx\"; /*Path*/

data data1;

set data1.xxxxxxxxx;

run;

data data2;

set data1;

if cough =1 or phlegm =1 or wheeze =1 then coughsymp =1; else coughsymp =0;

if xxxx =1 or xxxx= 1 or xxxx =1 then zzzz =1; else zzzz=0;

run;

But after running the code, there is no error in the log and no such column in the read-in dataset. Therefore, I got confused.

Reeza
Super User

Did you run a proc contents on your input data set?

proc contents data=data1.xxxxx;