BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
🔒 This topic is solved and locked. Need further help from the community? Please sign in and ask a new question.
JenniferBernard
Obsidian | Level 7

I am brand new to SAS programming, so forgive my ignorance on how do loops iterate.  I'm hoping someone can give me a sample to work with, as I have been reading and experimenting to no avail.  In the example below, I have a dataset with variables that increment in months, for 36 columns total.  These columns have names that reflect the month from the start date (ie VAR_1 = variable recorded on Jan 2010, VAR_2 = variable recorded on Feb 2010, all the way to VAR_36 = variable recorded on Dec 2012).  For programming purposes, I need to cycle through the column names and rename each variable with a month/year format: rename VAR_1=var_jan_2010  and so forth.

I've tried the code listed, and I know it is overwriting each variable name.  I've tried rearranging the loop and am just stuck.  Any tips would be greatly appreciated!

data have;
  input dum VAR_1 VAR_2 VAR_3 VAR_4 VAR_5 VAR_6
  			VAR_7 VAR_8 VAR_9 VAR_10 VAR_11 VAR_12
  			VAR_13 VAR_14 VAR_15 VAR_16 VAR_17 VAR_18
  			VAR_19 VAR_20 VAR_21 VAR_22 VAR_23 VAR_24
  			VAR_25 VAR_26 VAR_27 VAR_28 VAR_29 VAR_30
  			VAR_31 VAR_32 VAR_33 VAR_34 VAR_35 VAR_36;
datalines;
1 1 1 1 1 1 1 1 1 1 1 1 1 1 1 1 1 1 1 1 1 1 1 1 1 1 1 1 1 1 1 1 1 1 1 1 1
;

%macro changenames;
data want;
  set have;
  %local i next_month;
  %let month=jan feb mar apr may jun jul aug sep oct nov dec;
  %do k=1 %to 36;
    %do j=2010 %to 2012;
      %do i=1 %to %sysfunc(countw(&month));
        %let next_month = %scan(&month, &i);
        rename VAR_&k. = var_&next_month._&j.;
      %end;
    %end;
  %end;
run;
%mend changenames;
%changenames *;
1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
s_lassen
Meteorite | Level 14

If you want to do it with a macro, even though everybody seems to know better, here is a way:

%macro changenames;
data want;
  set have;