BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
chatur
Calcite | Level 5

Hi,

I need some help creating a JSON file using PROC JSON. I am new to PROC JSON. I have been working on it and have made some progress. But I have not yet been able to figure out how to create multiple nested hierarchies. Any help would be much appreciated.

Many thanks.

Please note that the data in the JSON file is imported into the JSON file from various SAS datasets using the:

EXPORT SAS_DATASET_NAME statement

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Start of JSON file that I need to create (it is a simplified example)...

{
"Person": {
"Name": {
"Fname": "John",
"Lname": "Smith"
},
"SomeMoreDetails": {
"number": "200",
"Street": "Palm Ave",
"City": "Funky Town",
"State": "Oklahoma",
"Tastes": [
{
"Sweet": "Yes",
"Sour": "No",
"Bitter": "No",
"Movies": [
{
"Thriller": "Yes",
"Comedy": "Yes",
"Horror": "No"
}
],
"Relationships": [
{
"Brother": "Bad",
"Sister": "OK",
"Father": "Good"
},
{
"Friend": "Excellent",
"Acquaintence": "OK",
"Boss": "Formal"
}
]
}]}}}

11 REPLIES 11
BillM_SAS
SAS Employee

I previously posted a proof-of-concept SAS program that produces hierarchical output using PROC JSON. You should be able to use this as a starting point to produce what you want as output.

chatur
Calcite | Level 5

Bill,

Thank you so much for your response and for pointing me to the sample code.

I have a follow up question. In your code, the lines in BLUE and GREEN are hard coded, with WRITE VALUE statements. The portion in RED is created using an EXPORT Dataset_Name statement.

What if I also needed to create the portions in BLUE and GREEN using an EXPORT SAS_ dataset statement, since that information is dynamic?

Any thoughts would be much appreciated.

Thanks

{

"name": "World",

"description": "World",

"children": [

{

"name": "Africa",

"description": "Africa",

{

"name": "Addis Ababa",

"description": "Addis Ababa",

{