BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
☑ This topic is solved. Need further help from the community? Please sign in and ask a new question.
KristiW
Calcite | Level 5

I'm brand new to SAS and in my Data Mining course I have to provide the below.  I am able to do numbers 1 & 2 with no problem but when it comes to number 3 I'm stumped.  None of our text or materials gives any clue other than "The point counts for grid cells can be calculated using a conditional statement such as an IF-THEN statement."  I'm not looking for the exact answer but I've exhausted just about every other resource so I'm hoping to find help here. The point counts for grid cells has to match the image in the Word doc I included.  Any help is appreciated!

Complete the following tasks:

1. Upload the dataset file simulation-uniform.csv from the Module 6 to SAS Studio. The first 200 observations in the dataset were generated from a uniform distribution over a circle centered at (2,3) of radius 2, and the next 100 observations were generated from a uniform distribution over a circle centered at (6,3) of radius 1.
  2. By writing appropriate SAS code, produce a scatterplot of the data. Your plot should look similar to the one shown in Figure 8.10 (page 646) in Introduction to Data Mining.
  3. By writing appropriate SAS code, generate the point counts for grid cells. It should have 49 cells using a 7-by-7 grid. Refer to Table 8.2 (page 646) in Introduction to Data Mining.

Thanks, Kristi

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
ballardw
Super User

@KristiW wrote:

@PaigeMiller  The word doc contains an image which this forum would not originally let me post, that is why it is in a word doc.  I was able to include it in this reply though, please see below.  What we write has to match this grid output, I have gotten some of this but the totals are off an any row or column that is all zero's is not being included and I'm not sure how to code to make sure that they appear even though there are only zero's.