BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
🔒 This topic is solved and locked. Need further help from the community? Please sign in and ask a new question.
Sudhan
Fluorite | Level 6

Hi,

I am quite new to SAS, pardon me if my question is naive.

I want to change my target table definition (TARGET) based on my Source table (SOURCE) column data type 

As part of my programming first I create a table TARGET with the default data type and column length as char(30).

"AS-IS" Table definition for TARGET:

| Name  | Type | Length

| ID                 | Char | 30

| Name           | Char | 30

"AS-IS" Table definition for SOURCE:

| Name  | Type | Length

| ID                  | Char      | 30

| Name            | Numeric | 8

TARGET table is a flat/empty table, where I need to update the values from the Source table. So first I need to convert the data type of the TARGET table based on the SOURCE table.

"To-Be" Table definition for TARGET:

| Name  | Type | Length

| ID                  | Char      | 30

| Name            | Numeric | 8

Following is the code I have written

proc sql;

Create table Test( name char(14)) ;

quit;

proc sql;

select cat(type,'(',length,')'),format into :Dtype,:format from dictionary.columns where libname = 'WORK' and memname = 'SOURCE' and upcase(name)='VALUE' ;

quit;

proc sql;

alter table WORK.Test modify name &Dtype. format=&format.;

quit;

I have an error message: 

ERROR: You cannot alter 'name' to be a numeric column.
ERROR: Character column name requires a character format specification.

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
RW9
Diamond | Level 26 RW9
Diamond | Level 26

The error quite clearly tells you the problem, you cannot change the type of a column.  How can name be both character and numeric?  If it contains non-numeric information, then it is not a numeric field.  The general rule would be, create the structure, then add the data into the given structure, so an example:

proc sql;
  create table target (id char(30),name char(30));
quit;