BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
littlewho
Fluorite | Level 6
Hello everyone,

I am helping a client to do some holdings-based analysis using CRSP data provided by WRDS. I have no financial background myself, so if it seems that I have a wrong understanding of concepts, please don't hesitate to point out.

We are doing an analysis of portfolios that are mostly composed of common stocks (over 90%) and we are interested in quarterly data, a very important criterion being that the portfolios we analyze should have no gaps in their reports. I filtered CRSP.FUND_SUMMARY to get only funds with over 90% common stocks (per_com > 90) and their associated portfolios.
Then, I filtered CRSP.HOLDINGS keeping only the quarterly reports of our selected portfolios and then I discarded any portfolio which had a missing quarterly report between 2007 4th Quarter and 2019 4th Quarter (this is the target period for the analysis). I ended up with 63 good portfolios.

As I know, every public common stock should have an associated PERMNO, so I also discarded all holdings that have a missing PERMNO, assuming that they are not public common stocks.
Our analysis is based on some financial ratios calculated for the stocks of our portfolios: Book/Market, Earnings/Price, Cash Flow/Price. For calculating these ratios I used this sample script provided by WRDS (https://wrds-www.wharton.upenn.edu/pages/support/manuals-and-overviews/wrds-financial-ratios/financi...). As the account I am using has no access to IBES and I need only 3 financial ratios, I stripped out some code, you can find my version here: https://pastebin.com/9ewFZ3cR (I already set uni_sp500 to 0, so CRSP common stocks will be used, not S&P500 selection)