BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
🔒 This topic is solved and locked. Need further help from the community? Please sign in and ask a new question.
svw1900
Obsidian | Level 7

Hi everyone, 

I am completely new to SAS (University Edition, newest version) and actually programming as well, so probably these questions have arised many times before (but I have googled for hours, watched YouTube videos and am still stuck with the basics).

Just for the background, I have to analyze a relatively complex data set, split into several tables, for the university.

In the first step, I have to merge "Table 1" with "Table 3". There is not a single column in both tables which can be used for the data merge, but I have a linking table, "Table 2", which assigns a specific identification Key from Table 3 to the identification Keys from Table 1 and allows me to merge both tables. I would start with merging Table 2 and Table 1, so that I can merge Table 1 and Table 3 afterwards. 

To make it a litte bit more complex, the data in Table 1 is given on a quarterly basis, with the "Date" column being in the format "31MAR2003". The data in Table 3 is given on a yearly basis, with the "Year" column being in the format "2003". I would like to assign, based on the identification key, the yearly datapoints of Table 3 to every quarterly datapoint in Table 1, of course just for the quarters which belong to the respective year (so that the data from Table 1 for the year 2003 is assigend to every quarterly datapoint, within 2003, of Table 1).

I hope that this is comprehensible, otherwise just ask me for clarifications.

Thank you in advance!!

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Reeza
Super User

If you use the GUI tasks to join the data, the code will be generated for you. This way you can play around and test the different options to ensure you get what you need. 

1. Add a Query (Tasks>Utilities>Query)

2. In Tables, add both your tables

3. Click Tables again and select Join