BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
mandan414
Fluorite | Level 6

Hello, 

I'm quite new in Macro and would appreciate if somebody helps me with this. 

I have a variable (myvariable) with the value of A10 to A30. I was wondering if it is possible to make a macro variable for these values (A&i) then I don't have to type the A10 .....A30  in my codes. 

For example I need to say 

data new;

set old; 

if myvariable in ('A10' , 'A11' , 'A12' , 'A13' , 'A14' ) then myvariable = 0;

else if myvariable in ('A16' , 'A17' , 'A18' , 'A19' , 'A20' ) then myvariable = 1;

run; 

I would like to avoid typing the 'A10' , 'A11' , 'A12' , 'A13' , 'A14'.... 

Thank you, 

Mandana 

8 REPLIES 8
novinosrin
Tourmaline | Level 20

One way is to use, 

User defined formats i.e PROC FORMAT invalue and store the format in as permanent INformats in a library. You can reuse as many times as you want.

Another way is, 

Store in a Dataset table, and you can load the dataset into memory table(HASH table) and do the look up.

The above two will only require a one time effort.

And  lastly 

Store in a macro variable at the top, and call that macro variable everywhere 

mandan414
Fluorite | Level 6
I'm not quite sure I understand your solution. I need to do this:
if myvar1 in ('A10', 'A11', 'A12', 'A13', 'A14') then myvar1=1;
else myvar1=0;
If myvar2 in ('A20', 'A21', 'A22', 'A23', 'A24', 'A25') then myvar2=1;
Else myvar2=0;
novinosrin
Tourmaline | Level 20

What I meant is

proc format;
 invalue recode (upcase just)
 'A10' , 'A11' , 'A12' , 'A13' , 'A14'=0
 'A16' , 'A17' , 'A18' , 'A19' , 'A20'=1;
 run;

data have;
 input var : $quote5.;
 cards;
 'A10'
 'A11' 
 'A12'
 'A13' 
 'A14' 
 'A16'
 'A17'
 'A18'
 'A19'
 'A20'
 ;

data want;
 set have;
 new_var=input(var,recode3.);
 run;

You can reuse the informat downstream as many times as you want.

Vish33
Lapis Lazuli | Level 10