BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
🔒 This topic is solved and locked. Need further help from the community? Please sign in and ask a new question.
gsaba
Calcite | Level 5

Hi, 

I'm new to SAS, so please don't judge me very harsh. I have one question about SAS Macro. 

I'm trying to make a macro which will import an Excel File. i have made that. with something like this: (I don't have here that code now, so i will try to remember it now)

%macro gsaba (a, b)

proc import out = &a

datafile= "C:desktop\excelfiles\25excelfile.xlsx&b";

dbms=xlsx replace;

run;

%mend 

%gsaba (a = datafile, b = 25excelfile.xlsx) 

so, this works! but now my question is how to make a filter for release. i want to make something where i can write "YES" and in this case, macro will work and load output, but when entering "NO" macro will not work. how can i do that? can somebody help? 

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Astounding
PROC Star

You're missing a couple of pieces.  

%do  needs a semicolon:  %do;

And this is missing entirely to match with %do:  %end;

View solution in original post

14 REPLIES 14
Astounding
PROC Star

Is this what you are asking?

%macro gsaba (a, b, filter)

%if &FILTER=YES %then %do;

proc import out = &a

dbms=xlsx replace;

run;

%end;

%mend 

gsaba
Calcite | Level 5

Thanks, i think that's the answer. But as i understand, i need to mention in bottom what is FILTER, isn't it true? like this: 

%macro gsaba (a, b, filter)

%if &FILTER=YES %then %do;

proc import out = &a

dbms=xlsx replace;

run;

%end;

%mend 

%gsaba (a = datafile, b = 25excelfile.xlsx, FILTER = "YES") 

as soon as i will have a possibility to check this code, i'll write if this works... 

many thanks in advance. 

Astounding
PROC Star

You do have to specify a value for FILTER.  However, don't use quotes around the YES.  Also, make these compatible:

%macro gsaba (a, b, filter);   would match with    %gsaba (datafile, 25excelfile.xlsx, YES)

Or (and the variation I prefer):