BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
BrinaLi
Fluorite | Level 6

Hello!

I would like to create a macro that will automate searching through several folders. I will have multiple reports, therefore multiple folders with datasets. I would like to create a macro where it searches each folder(each folder represents metrics for a specific report), and in each dataset, look to see if it contains a specified column. If at least 1 of the datasets includes the column, then I want my macro to include my row-level-security column (created in a previous step) in all the datasets for that report. If at least 1 does not, then do not insert the column in any dataset for that report

So far, for testing, this is what I have. I am still learning and I apologize if my code or what I am trying to accomplish isn’t clear.

Thank you!

Data contents_all; format empname $32.; stop; run;

Proc contents noprint data= MetricFolder1. Dataset1 memtype=view out=contents (keep=empname); run;

Proc append base=contents_all data=contents; run;

Proc contents noprint data= MetricFolder1. Dataset2 memtype=view out=contents (keep=empname); run;

Proc append base=contents_all data=contents; run;

%global test;

Data _null_;

Set contents_all;

If  rls_name=’empname’ then do;

Call (symput(‘test’,’Y’);

Stop;

End;

Run;

Each report lives under a main report folder, but the number of datasets under each subfolder could be different

Metrics Folder <-main folder for reports

• MetricFolder1 <- Data for Report A
    • Dataset1
    • Dataset2
    • Dataset3
  • MetricFolder2 <- Data for Report B
    • Dataset1
    • Dataset2
    • Dataset3
    • Dataset4
  • MetricFolder3 <- Data for Report C
    • Dataset1
    • Dataset2

2 REPLIES 2
ballardw
Super User