BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
🔒 This topic is solved and locked. Need further help from the community? Please sign in and ask a new question.
shawn123
Obsidian | Level 7

Hi guys. I am new to the Macro, and a bit confuse about how macro resolve the date-time constant in keyword parameter.  This is my code. I want to give a date and number to a and b, and subset a sashelp.air first observation into a subset dataset. But I don't know what is wrong, I cannot resolve the datetime constant in my data step. Please help, thank you in advance 

%macro subsetting(a=,b=);

data subset;
set sashelp.air;
if date ="&a" and air ="&b";
run;
%mend;
%subsetting(a='01jan94'd,b=112);
1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
sustagens
Pyrite | Level 9

Your macro program is fine, it's just an issue of mismatched data type.

Since variables date and air are numeric, you also have to supply numeric values to it.

The parameters you are passing are already numeric, but if you enclose them in quotes it will be processed as a literal string (character).

Get rid of the double quotes and it should work. 

if date =&a and air =&b;

Just to note, you are working with a "date" constant (i.e. '01Jan1994'd), not  "date-time" (i.e. '01Jan1994:00:00:00'dt)

View solution in original post

3 REPLIES 3
sustagens
Pyrite | Level 9

Your macro program is fine, it's just an issue of mismatched data type.

Since variables date and air are numeric, you also have to supply numeric values to it.

The parameters you are passing are already numeric, but if you enclose them in quotes it will be processed as a literal string (character).

Get rid of the double quotes and it should work. 

if date =&a and air =&b;

Just to note, you are working with a "date" constant (i.e. '01Jan1994'd), not  "date-time" (i.e. '01Jan1994:00:00:00'dt)

RichardDeVen
Barite | Level 11

Is SASHELP.AIR the DATE variable is a number type containing SAS DATE values formatted to display as MONYY5.  The AIR variable is a number type.