BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
🔒 This topic is solved and locked. Need further help from the community? Please sign in and ask a new question.
mjabed600
Fluorite | Level 6

Hello,

I'm a beginner using SAS university edition. I have a data set containing flight information and a variable Country. I am trying to write a macro where i could call the macro with varying values of Country as parameters, for example, %subset("US","CA") or %subset("US","AU","CH"). I tried using the PARMBUFF option but got an error 

ERROR: User does not have appropriate authorization level for library WC000001.

My code is

%macro subsets/parmbuff;
%let num=1;
%let dsname=%scan(&syspbuff, &num);
%do %while(&dsname ne);
   	data &dsname;
   		set myexcel;
   		If country in (&dsname)then output;
   	run;
      proc print data=&dsname;
      run;
%let num=%eval(&num+1);
%end;
%mend subsets;

%subsets("US","CA");

I would appreciate any help to point out my mistakes. thankyou

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
RW9
Diamond | Level 26 RW9
Diamond | Level 26

Don't.  It is never a good idea to split one dataset into many, this increases the storage, the code to process it becomes longer, messier and less reliable, and it takes more processing power to process.  I am going to guess from:

myexcel;

That you want an output Excel file, with only certain countries with each on a separate sheet.  This is done very simply by Base SAS - the programming language which you should focus on learning:

%let subset=US AU CH;

/* Get data */
data want;
  set have;
  if country in (&subset.);
run;

/* Output this data to excel - I use tagsets.excelxp but ther are other methods */
ods tagsets.excelxp file="test.xml" options(sheet_interval="bygroup");
proc report data=want nowd;
  by country;
  columns _all_;
run;
ods tagsets.excelxp close;

Note, it worth getting in the habbit of always finishing macro variables with a dot, e.g not this:

&abc

But this:

&abc.