BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
🔒 This topic is solved and locked. Need further help from the community? Please sign in and ask a new question.
AJ_Brien
Quartz | Level 8

Hello, 

I'm new to SAS and just wanted to get a few concepts right, googling hasn't helped so far.

I run my codes on SAS EG which is connected to SASApp or SAS Metadata server.

Is SASApp a local or a remote server?

When I use winscp, I understand that the left hand side is the local machine and the right hand side is unix. On the right hand side I have a folder called sasuserhome and every user has their individual sasuserhome folders. Is this sasuserhome folder located on local or remote server?

And then there are the actual sasgrid folders that I understand are remote servers where all the production files usually go. How do I transfer files from the sasuserhome server to this sasgrid server? I tried using x cp command but that seems to be not working. Is proc export the way to go here?

Thank you.

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
AJ_Brien
Quartz | Level 8

Yeah so this is what I did, and looks like it works.

Just got into properties, under code submission selected use grid if available.

View solution in original post

7 REPLIES 7
34reqrwe
Quartz | Level 8

SASApp is remote . 

Sounds like your sasuserhome is remote . 

Before you start writing to where 'production files usually go' suggest you talk to your Unix administrators . 

If you are copying files you could theoretically do that within winscp if you had the correct permissions.

Or if copying SAS datasets  you could do that using a libname. Depends what you are trying to do . 

AJ_Brien
Quartz | Level 8