BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
julianna1644
Calcite | Level 5

Hi all, 

I am new to SAS and recently downloaded UE after having similar trouble using SAS 9.4 on my University's computers. 

I have: 

libname libsas "/folders/myfolders/libsas/finaldata";
data libsas.finaldata;
run;

and I get: 

1 OPTIONS NONOTES NOSTIMER NOSOURCE NOSYNTAXCHECK;
73 libname libsas "/folders/myfolders/libsas/finaldata";
NOTE: Library LIBSAS does not exist.
74 data libsas.finaldata;
75 run;
ERROR: Library LIBSAS does not exist.

I can see my 'libsas' library in where my 'finaldata' data set exists in the side bar under 'Folders'.

I checked the Virtual Box and my 'myfolders' is the shared folder. My syntax isn't copied so I don't think there is any mistakes in that regard. I have gone through some of the other posts on here and I haven't been able to find anything that works. 

Any suggestions help! 
2 REPLIES 2
Cynthia_sas
SAS Super FREQ

Hi:
What's not clear is whether "finaldata" is a folder, a dataset or both. It seems clear that LIBSAS is a folder name under your /folders/myfolders location, but it's not clear about whether finaldata is a folder or a dataset.

So there is a absolute, never-fail, way to see what the path for your LIBNAME statement should be.

In the server files and folders pane on the left side of SAS Studio, look for the LIBSAS folder under your My Folders top node. Expand the LIBSAS folder using the little arrow.

Do you have a dataset named "finaldata" in that folder? Or, do you have a subfolder named finaldata? What you need to to is right click on the LIBSAS folder and choose Properties. In the Location field will be the location of that folder. If you have a data table called finaldata that is directly under the LIBSAS folder, then you need this:
libname libsas '/folders/myfolders/libsas';

Note that for this to work, you must really have a folder called libsas under your My Folders top node.

This syntax
data libsas.finaldata;
run;