BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
Phil_NZ
Barite | Level 11

Hi SAS Users,

Today I ran into a problem when trying to filter my data regarding keeping missing observation

I want to keep observation where:

s22 >=0 

and (s21>=0 or s21 is a missing observation)

So my code is as below, can you please have a look and tell me if the code is acceptable

data want;
   set have;
   if (s21 ge 0 or s21 =".") and s22 ge 0;
run;

Many thanks!

Thank you for your help, have a fabulous and productive day! I am a novice today, but someday when I accumulate enough knowledge, I can help others in my capacity.
7 REPLIES 7
PeterClemmensen
Tourmaline | Level 20

If s21 is numeric, then drop the quotations around the dot.

Otherwise, all good 🙂

Phil_NZ
Barite | Level 11

Hi @PeterClemmensen !

Thank you for your answer, because I am not sure if "." is numeric or not because it is set up as the code below

data want;
      set have;
	  if input(s21, ?? 32.) = . then s21=.;
      else s21=input(s&i., 32.);
   run;

The code 

if input(s21, ?? 32.) = . then s21=.;

set all character values to missing  ".", I am not sure in that case, "." is numeric or character value?

Thank you!

Thank you for your help, have a fabulous and productive day! I am a novice today, but someday when I accumulate enough knowledge, I can help others in my capacity.
PeterClemmensen
Tourmaline | Level 20

In the latest code you post, I assume that s21 is character because the Input Function takes character input. 

Phil_NZ
Barite | Level 11

Hi @PeterClemmensen 

I think the code

if input(s21, ?? 32.) = .

is to check if this observation of s21 is character

but 

then s21=.

is the one that assign the value for such character value.

So from my understanding, s21 at such character value are character or numeric depending on 

then s21=.

Please correct me if I explain improperly!

Thanks in advance.

PeterClemmensen
Tourmaline | Level 20

@Phil_NZ, you may be correct. Though, the easy way to find out is to run