BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
briannalozelle
Calcite | Level 5

I am very new to SAS and I am trying to iterate over a set of SAS files in a library. They all have names like filename_2022xxxx where 'xxxx' is the day and month the file was created. 

For each file I will create the same tables which will be appended to a main CSV export file. 

The following pseudo code is representative of what I would like to do.

For file in lib with name like filename_*

Let expstamp = *   

/*the specific date stamp (expstamp) of the file is needed for reference in the creation of a subsequent table */

Create Table A 

/*Create table with Proc SQL, subsequent tables will reference this table A rather than the original dataset */

Create Table B 

Create Table C

/* this table needs a column with exp_stamp variable */

If export file does not exist:

Create export csv file 

Else concatenate output to existing output csv

End.

I am having no trouble with the creation of my tables beyond the fact that I have to hardcode file names into my script, which is what I am looking to avoid since there are numerous files. 

I am not able to attach the data but would like an idea of how to approach this. 

I have successfully added a column with the date stamp from the original data set by the following method with aforementioned hardcoding: 

data lib.temp;
set lib.filename_20220722
indsname = name;
EXP_STAMP =  scan(scan(name, 2),3,'_');
run;

I am unsure if there is an optimal method that does not require nesting scan functions. 

2 REPLIES 2
ballardw
Super User

Instead of creating a bunch of sets you could combine all of then and do that calculation at the same time:

data lib.temp;
   set lib.filename_:
        indsname = name;
   EXP_STAMP = input(scan(name,2,'_'),yymmdd8.);
   format Exp_stamp yymmdd10.; 
run;