BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
🔒 This topic is solved and locked. Need further help from the community? Please sign in and ask a new question.
Phil_NZ
Barite | Level 11

Hi SAS Experts,

I have the code below

data var_cal;
	set my.keepvar_1999_2001_1;
	gviidkey=catx('_',gvkey,iid);
	prccd_abs= abs(prccd);
by gviidkey; lagprccd_abs=ifn(first.gviidkey,.,lag(prccd_abs)); lagajexdi=ifn(first.gviidkey,.,lag(ajexdi)); lagtrfd=ifn(first.gviidkey,.,lag(trfd)); If n(prccd_abs,ajexdi,trfd,lagprccd_abs,lagajexdi,lagtrfd)=6 then raw_return=((prccd_abs/ajexdi*trfd)/(lagprccd_abs/ladajexdi*lagtrfd)-1)*100; log_raw_return=log(raw_return); run;

I am not sure whether it is accepted that I can use BY gviidkey when this variable was calculated right above as noted in the code.

Kind regards.

Thank you for your help, have a fabulous and productive day! I am a novice today, but someday when I accumulate enough knowledge, I can help others in my capacity.
1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Kurt_Bremser
Super User

Maxim 1: Read the Documentation.

From BY Statement in Data Step Programming / Data Step Statements:

Required Argument

variable

names each variable by which the data set is sorted or indexed.

This implies that the variable is present in the input dataset(s).

Next, Maxim 4: Try It.

See this simple log piece:

73         data want;
 74         set sashelp.class;
 75         check = name !! sex;
 76         by check;
 77         run;

ERROR: BY variable check is not on input data set SASHELP.CLASS.

Your code would only run without an ERROR if gviidkey was already present in the input dataset, and it would positively not do what you expect.

View solution in original post

3 REPLIES 3
andreas_lds
Jade | Level 19

What happens if you execute the code?

See Maxim 4 😉

Phil_NZ
Barite | Level 11

Thank you very much @andreas_lds  and @Kurt_Bremser