BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
aawve
Calcite | Level 5

Hello,

How do I batch decode a list of VINs using the API from NHTSA? Thank you for your consideration. Details below:

I have a long list (several thousand) of vehicle identification numbers (VINs) as a field in my SAS dataset. I want to decode these VINs in small batches using the API from US DOT (Decode VIN (flat format) in a Batch, API Webpage).

I know how to break the data into small batches, but I can't figure out how to automatically run the list of VINs through the API, mostly because I've never used an API before and hardly understand what is happening.

The input data contains one field of 17-character strings: "5N1AN08W86C562536", "5N1AN08W86C557286", "5N1AN08W86C521324", etc.

The output from the API, based on manual entry of one VIN, contains a bunch of fields, and I don't have a preference about the output format (XML, CSV, JSON, etc.), as long as I can control where it outputs, and that I process it further in SAS.

5 REPLIES 5
ChrisNZ
Tourmaline | Level 20

Use proc http for each your VIN numbers.

Test which output is easier to use (depending on your SAS version and your skills). 

Start with JSON, it's probably the easiest if your version of SAS support the JSON engine.

aawve
Calcite | Level 5

Thank you for the prompt reply, ChrisNZ.

I'm missing some of the coding details needed to go from the VINs to the API and back with the decoded information. I've decided that a csv is the format that would work well if a file must be generated to a directory; otherwise, reading the "out = " data directly back into my working session would be ideal.

Please let me know if you have further details or an edited code snippet that works. Details below:

Details:

I prepared a test data set to try to pass through the API one at a time. The test data contains these five values:

5N1AN08W86C562536?format=csv&modelyear=2006
5N1AN08W58C521039?format=csv&modelyear=2008
5N1AN0NW0AC506409?format=csv&modelyear=2010