BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
🔒 This topic is solved and locked. Need further help from the community? Please sign in and ask a new question.
Jack_Sabbath
Calcite | Level 5

Hello SAS community,

I am new to SAS programming. I have a data set with say, 20 variables. Suppose that I want to set up a one-to-one correspondence between these variables and variables called x_1, x_2,...,x_20. I have more of a mathematical background and find it is much easier to perform calculations and other procedures when we refer to the ith variable as x_i rather than ith-variable-name, which in my view streamlines subsequent programming. From what I understand, these data sets are essentially matrices, in something like MATLAB one can specify a column (variable) simply as x(:,j), this is where my intuition is coming from, however I am struggling to find similar analogies in SAS.  

Is there a straight forward way to map k non-indexed variables {var,bar,car,....,zar} to {x1,x2,...,xk} and back again?

Another question: Does there exist a function which I can apply to a data set which returns the number of variables?

Thank you for taking the time to read this

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
ChrisNZ
Tourmaline | Level 20

The double dash syntax might help you to make arrays perfectly dynamic.

Consider this:

data NEW;
  FIRST_VAR=1;
  set SASHELP.CLASS(obs=1);
  LAST_VAR=1;
  array NUM_VARS[*] FIRST_VAR - numeric   - LAST_VAR;
  array CHR_VARS[*] FIRST_VAR - character - LAST_VAR;
  putlog '***NUM VARS***';
  do I=2 to dim(NUM_VARS)-1;  %* ignore first and last num as they are not in the data set;
    putlog NUM_VARS[I]=;
  end;
  putlog '***CHAR VARS***';
  do I=1 to dim(CHR_VARS);
    putlog CHR_VARS[I]=;
  end;
run;

***NUM VARS***
Age=14
Height=69
Weight=112.5
***CHAR VARS***
Name=Alfred
Sex=M

Note how the array only picks up variables already in the PDV when defined. Variable I is not in the array.

View solution in original post

8 REPLIES 8
PeterClemmensen