BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
🔒 This topic is solved and locked. Need further help from the community? Please sign in and ask a new question.
geogeo14000
Fluorite | Level 6

Hi everyone,

I'm a french machine learning student ans I would really like to use a NHANES dataset to perform linear regression with python, but as the data is made for SAS i want first to create the dataset thanks to SAS.

I'm using the free SAS Studio related to the SAS University Edition, I contacted NHANES to know the steps to follow in order to create the dataset. I did as it was indicated in their e-mails but I still have errors and as I'm totally new to SAS I can't figure out why I'm still struggling with creating the dataset.

Here is the link to the NHANES dataset, followed by the errors I got when I run the SAS code provided (after replacing filename with the location of the data downloaded and saved as .dat on my computer) :

https://wwwn.cdc.gov/nchs/nhanes/nhanes3/datafiles.aspx#core the first Household Adult File in the core data section is the dataset I want

and the errors and warings :

ERROR 180-322: Statement is not valid or it is used out of proper order.

Also have the following warnings :

NOTE: The SAS System stopped processing this step because of errors.
WARNING: The data set WORK.WORK may be incomplete. When this step was stopped there were 0 observations and 1238 variables.
WARNING: Data set WORK.WORK was not replaced because this step was interrupted. 

(there was a part in french in the last warning that I translated to english myself)

Help would be much appreciated

Thanks a lot,

Best regards

Geoffrey Laforest

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
SASJedi
SAS Super FREQ

When you SAS is running in the operating system installed on your PC, any file you can find via the Explorer in SAS Studio are also avialable to your SAS Compute Server (the SAS installed on your machine):

SASJedi_0-1629114738635.png