BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
thomask23
Fluorite | Level 6

I need help.  I am new to macros.  I need to create a macro that will import multiple excel files base on a list of names.  Below is my current code.  Please help.

%let dte = FEB2019;/*update monthly*/

/*Identify the current months FL files FILEDATE*/

filename fref pipe "ls /unixfolder/*&dte.*.xlsx";

data work.file_curr;

infile fref;

input ;

file = scan(_infile_,-1,'/');

path=scan(_infile_,1,'.');

run;

/*List of current xls files to import*/

data file_a(keep=file );

set file_curr;

RUN;

/*Macro to import files*/

options mprint symbolgen mlogic;

%macro Imp(all_mth);

%let k=1;

%let mth = %scan(&all_mth, &k);

%do %while ("&mth" NE "");

proc import DATAFILE="/unixlocation/&mth."

dbms=xlsx

out=outdata replace;

run;

proc append base=outdata _ALL data=outdata FORCE;

run;

%let k = %eval(&k + 1);

%let mth = %scan(&all_mth, &k);

%end;

%mend;

data _null_;

length check $200.;

set file_a;

check = '%imp(file="strip(file));");

Please help!

5 REPLIES 5
Reeza
Super User
Look into CALL EXECUTE instead of your last data step. Which step are you having issues with?
thomask23
Fluorite | Level 6
The program works if I manually update the macro. The problem is the naming conventions will change each month. I am attempting to create a macro to execute it as a macro using a datafile. however I do not know how to run a macro using a datafile.
Tom
Super User Tom
Super User

Write a macro to read one file.

Use the list of files to generate a separate call to the macro for each file you want to read.

ballardw
Super User

Be prepared to have problems with Proc Append following a Proc Import step.

Each time you call Proc Import with XLSX files the procedure makes guesses about the variable types and lengths. In some cases the guesses may result in different variable types. So the append will fail because of mismatched data types.