BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
DivyaGadde
Fluorite | Level 6

Hi!

I am a beginner and started using SAS for a few months. I've got a problem and would like to use the help and advice of the SAS experts here.

I have multiple CSV data files with the same set of variables in every raw data file (also all the files are present in the same directory). I would like to import all of them once and create a new SAS.

Thanks for all your help in Advance!

5 REPLIES 5
Tom
Super User Tom
Super User

Since CSV files are just text there is no need to "import" them.  Just read them.

If you really don't know what the structure is you could use PROC IMPORT to read one and then use the code it generates to help you writing code to read the file.  But it writes really ugly code over complicated code.

As to the multiple file issue having all of them in one directory helps. Especially if you want to read ALL of the CSV files in that directory. In that case you can use a * wildcard in the file name of the INFILE statement.  The only tricky part will be if the files have header lines.  For that you can use the FILENAME= option of the INFILE statement.  That is also useful if there is information in the name of the file that is not already in the file.  Like a date or company name.

data want;
   length fname $200 ;
   infile 'c:\mydir\*.csv' dsd dlm=',' truncover filename=fname;
   input @;
   if fname ne lag(fname) then input;
   input var1 var2 .... ;
run;
DivyaGadde
Fluorite | Level 6

Thank you for your quick response.

Do I have to list out all the variables in the input statement? 

Tom
Super User Tom
Super User

@DivyaGadde wrote:

Thank you for your quick response.

Do I have to list out all the variables in the input statement?