BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
🔒 This topic is solved and locked. Need further help from the community? Please sign in and ask a new question.
Blndbrm727
Calcite | Level 5

Hi All,

I am a fairly new SAS programmer! Below is my code. I am getting no errors in my log but yet my new variable is blank. Can someone help me? Not sure what is going on. I have formatted the variable. I have a series of these types of if-then statements creating a few different variables and none of them are working. I believe if I can figure out the issue here I can fix the rest of them quickly. Thank you in advance! 

if race=";2028-9;" or race="Asian" then racenew="A";
if race=";2054-5;" or race="Black/African American" then racenew="B";
if race=";2106-3;" or race="White" then racenew="W";
if race=";2131-1;" or race="Other" then racenew="O";
if race="Unknown" then racenew=" ";
run;

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
ballardw
Super User

@Blndbrm727 wrote:
Race
;2106-3;
;2106-3;
White
White
White
;2106-3;
;2106-3;
;2106-3;
;2106-3;
;2106-3;
White
;2106-3;
White
White
;2106-3;
;2106-3;
 This is straight from the Excel spreadsheet.

Race Char 22 $15. $22. Race 
This is from Proc Contents

1) Show the entire code of your data step. For instance if you have an OUTPUT statement prior to the lines that assign the value then the values are not populated when the data is written to the output data set.

2) It would be helpful to provide example data that mapped to ALL of the expected codes instead of only W.

The code does work for W given that text as read.

data example;
    input race $  ;
datalines4;
;2106-3;
;2106-3;
White
White
White
;2106-3;
;2106-3;
;2106-3;
;2106-3;
;2106-3;
White
;2106-3;
White
White
;2106-3;
;2106-3;
;;;;

I would add that I am a little concerned about have a code value like ";2106-3;" as the presence of two typical delimiter values, the semicolons, for some values but not others, "White" makes me suspect a possible data reading issue in the history.