BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
☑ This topic is solved. Need further help from the community? Please sign in and ask a new question.
Moksha
Pyrite | Level 9

Hi,

I am new to SAS and I have the below code where the output is written to a new data set called 'totals'. Instead of creating a new data set 'totals',  I want to write this to a file called 'totals.pdf' using only FILE statement and only ODS statement. Please, advice how to write using (i) FILE statement (ii) ODS 

Here is the code that writes to the data set 'totals':

data sales;
infile 'H:\SAS Training\MyPractice\datafiles\Flowers_proc_means.dat';
input CustomerID $ @9 SaleDate MMDDYY10. Petunia SnapDragon Marigold;
proc sort data=sales;
by CustomerID;

proc means data=sales noprint;
by CustomerID;
var Petunia SnapDragon Marigold;
output out=totals SUM(Petunia SnapDragon Marigold)= Petunia_Sum SnapDragon_Sum Marigold_Sum
MEAN(Petunia SnapDragon Marigold)=Petunia_Mean SnapDragon_Mean Marigold_Mean;

proc print data=totals;
Title 'Sum of Flowers Data over customer ID';
Format Petunia_Mean SnapDragon_Mean Marigold_Mean 3.;
run;

Thanks

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
PaigeMiller
Diamond | Level 26

I showed you the code that produces a PDF file.

You could also just do a PROC PRINT of data set TOTALS

ods pdf file='yourfilename.pdf';
proc print data=totals;
run;
ods pdf close;
--
Paige Miller

View solution in original post

12 REPLIES 12
PaigeMiller
Diamond | Level 26
ods pdf file='yourfilename.pdf' n sum mean;
proc means data=sales;
    by CustomerID;
run;
ods pdf close;

Please note that it is usually a good idea to end your PROCs and DATA steps with a RUN; statement — although a few PROCs should end with a QUIT; statement. But always end your PROCs with either RUN; or QUIT; as appropriate.

--
Paige Miller
Moksha
Pyrite | Level 9

Hi Paige Miller,

Thank you very much for your advise. The The output of my code where the output is written to data set 'totals' contains the output of as shown below: