BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
Nietzsche
Lapis Lazuli | Level 10

One of the data files storm_2017.sas7bdat that came with programming 2 has lots invalid characters causing errors. 

willtopower_0-1666419684706.png

what is the best way to treat these invalid characters? I am thinking about downloading it as CSV and removing them manually and then uploading up back into SAS.

SAS Base Programming (2022 Dec), Preparing for SAS Advanced Programming (Cancelled).
6 REPLIES 6
Nietzsche
Lapis Lazuli | Level 10

I am sorry I am still a beginner, I kinda understand what you're saying but I have no idea how to implement it in SAS.

SAS Base Programming (2022 Dec), Preparing for SAS Advanced Programming (Cancelled).
Ksharp
Super User
It looks like a carriage return character '\n' .
Can you change your sas 's encoding into 'utf-8' or others ? maybe could solve it .
Kurt_Bremser
Super User

This will take some research on your part. Use the $HEX format to display the hex codes of your strings, so you can use them for defining your "target" characters (see the function documentation).

From the context, you will be able to determine the wanted UTF character (in "Yucatan", it must be some kind of accented a). Look up the multi-byte "replacement" string in online available UTF tables.

Edit: fixed typos

Tom
Super User Tom
Super User

Does it really cause any trouble for doing the exercises?  If not then just ignore it.

To figure out what is going on do a little research.

Find out what encoding your SAS session is using.

proc options option=encoding;
run;

Find out what encoding the dataset is using.

proc contents data=mylib.storm_2017;
run;

There are two main types of encodings used. 

Single byte encodings such as LATIN1 or WLATIN1.  In those encoding each character uses only one byte.  But that means that there are only 256 possible characters (which includes invisible characters like TAB, CARRIAGE RETURN and LINE FEED).