BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
🔒 This topic is solved and locked. Need further help from the community? Please sign in and ask a new question.
kevinma28
Fluorite | Level 6

Hello, I'm still relatively new to SAS. I got a dataset which needs to be cleaned. The dataset has several rows shifted to the left, so for example the age is in the name column, etc.

Example:

IDNameAgeSex
1001Marcel20M
.25M.

Desired output:

IDNameAgeSex
1001Marcel20M
..25M

How can I shift the affected rows to the right? Missing values are allowed. Thanks before.

Edit:

I attached the Listings.csv dataset that I was given to be cleaned up and analyzed. I noticed some strange values in neighbourhood_group column and after looking at the records, I recognized that those records are shifted. The reason I want to shift these records is to retrieve any valuable data for analysis from these records to get a more accurate result.

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Kurt_Bremser
Super User

I ran this code after uploading the file to my ODA account:

data want;
infile '~/Listings.csv' dlm="," dsd truncover firstobs=2;
input
  id :$10.
  name :$50.
  host_id :$10.
  host_name :$20.
  neighbourhood_group :$20.
  neighbourhood :$20.
  latitude
  longitude
  room_type :$20.
  price
  minimum_nights
  number_of_reviews
  last_review :mmddyy10.
  reviews_per_month
  calculated_host_listings_count
  availability_365
;
format last_review yymmdd10.;
run;

I found 12 problematic rows.

The offending rows are caused by CR/LF/CRLF characters in the name column. You need to clean those out first before you read the data. Search the communities for "line breaks in text files" or similar; you will find a suitable method for removing those unwanted line terminators. To know what you need to filter out, use an advanced text editor like Notepad++ that can show you the characters.

Edit: TERMSTR=CRLF, as suggested by @Ksharp fixes it. So you have single CR or LF characters in a Windows-style terminated text file.