BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
SASuserlot
Barite | Level 11

I am new to using SAS remotely. I have the situation where my desktop not installed with SAS 9.4 . In order to run the programs, first I need to connect the secure server to access all the data and programs, then Connect to remote desktop where SAS9.4 installed. From the remote desktop I run the programs. However sometime remote desktop have issues where it  have lagging issues. My desktop have the ultraedit and notepad++ application. I am looking how to run the SAS codes using these programs. I am pretty new to this. I really appreciate if you guys help me in configuring these. Any documents or sources will be a great help. Thanks.  Happy holidays...

11 REPLIES 11
SASuserlot
Barite | Level 11

my organization don't have EG version, and they don't allow us to download other than already installed.

Kurt_Bremser
Super User

<sarcasm>Congratulations!</sarcasm>

Your organisation has picked the most inefficient way to run SAS from a remote server, by orders of magnitude.

I tested something similar once, using the X windows protocol (which is considerably "leaner" than RDP/Citrix), and found out that running something simple like

proc print data=sashelp.class;
run;

produced about a 1000 times as much network traffic as running the same thing from EG.

Using an alternate external editor means that you have to run all code in batch mode, load the log, inspect it (or code your own log parser), search for result files to look at them, and so on.

SAS on Demand for Academics (which supports 100k+ users all over the world) demonstrates how to run SAS in such a distributed environment, using the SAS BI Server infrastructure with SAS Studio (where all you need on the client is a browser).

SASuserlot
Barite | Level 11

I totally agree with you. Its inefficient way. I realized recently  that when there was too much network traffic, where opening a single file took 6 min. Thank you for your suggestions

Kurt_Bremser