BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
🔒 This topic is solved and locked. Need further help from the community? Please sign in and ask a new question.
mapk
Fluorite | Level 6

I tried to convert wide format data to long format but it only gives me the result in output format. I would like to save the output of this in a variable name (sirstvt_long) and be able to print it as print(sirstvt_long). Also, I would like to drop Subject columns and sort this table by instrument column (starting with I1, I2,..I5). How do I do this in SAS?  Sorry I am new to SAS and your help would be appreciated.

data sirstvt;
infile 'https://www.itl.nist.gov/div898/strd/anova/SiRstvt.dat' url firstobs=61 truncover;
input I1-I5 ;
run;

data sirstvt;
set sirstvt;
Subject+1;
run;

proc transpose data=sirstvt
OUT=sirstvt_long(rename=(Col1=Resistance)) name=Instrument;
by Subject; /** for each subject **/
var I1 I2 I3 I4 I5; /** make a row for these variables **/
run;

print(sirstvt_long);

Result I want should be in this format:

Instrument Resistance
1 196.3052
1 196.1240
1 196.1890
1 196.2569
1 196.3403
2 196.3042
2 196.3825
2 196.1669
2 196.3257
2 196.0422

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
heffo
Pyrite | Level 9

Without knowing the content of you in file I can't actually run the first part of the code to verify it. But assuming that that one works, instead of your last line you could replace it with the following code:

*Sort the table by your I(n) variables and drop the column subject; 

proc sort 	data=sirstvt_long 
		out=sirstvt_long_2 (drop=subject);
	by I1 I2 I3 I4 I5;
run;

*Print the table, but don't show row number in the output. Also use labels if there are any.;
proc print data=sirstvt_long_2 noobs label;
run;

This will print the table on screen. Do you want it written to a space separated text file? 

View solution in original post

5 REPLIES 5
heffo
Pyrite | Level 9