BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
inquistive
Quartz | Level 8

Hi Experts,

I have MULTIPLE ACTIVE libraries under Base SAS 9.4 (suppose  A to Z).

For instance:

LibraryNames         TableNames                               ColumnNames

Covid_19                 patient_visit_info                           visit_date 

Obesity                    patient_info                                   patient_visit_date

Diabetes                  visitor_info                                     visit_date_info

Assume there are hundreds of tables which contain columns containing DATE in them. I have limited knowledge of  pulling relevant columns from multiple TABLES (via  PROC SQL via  LIKE operator in SQL-  '...where ColumnNames LIKE % DATE% ...'  ).

But I don't know which LIBRARY or  TABLES they are in.  

Could you please  suggest methods/ways to query MULTIPLE  LIBRARIES at one go to  find TABLES and pull  COLUMNS  of interest ?    

I would appreciate any codes, relevant links and  tips on the same.

SASsy DATA STEP is preferred over resource consuming PROC SQL as far as possible 😀

Thanks in advance!

8 REPLIES 8
Tom
Super User Tom
Super User

Actually you should start with PROC SQL because that is where the DICTIONARY metadata library lives. 

In particular DICTIONARY.COLUMNS will let you find the NAME of all of the variables in all of the MEMBERs in all of the LIBREFs.

For example you might look for variable that have the string DATE in their name.

proc sql;
create table datevars as
  select *
  from dictionary.columns
  where upcase(name) like '%DATE%'
;
quit;

Or perhaps look for variables that have DATE type format attached to them.

proc sql;
create table datevars as
  select *
  from dictionary.columns
  where  'date' = fmtinfo(prxchange('s/\d*\.*\d*$//',-1,trim(format)),'cat')
;
quit;

Once you have the list of variables you can use it to do whatever you want, but it is not at all clear to me what you want.

Tom
Super User Tom
Super User