BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
al15
Calcite | Level 5

Hi,

I have 3 datasets (with millions of observations). The masterfile contains a variable "record" that links it with the other datasets. The other 2 datasets contain the same variables.

I can get my rough code to work, but ideally the merge would occur in one SQL step, if possible. Even in the individual SQL steps I receive a warning "WARNING: Variable record already exists on file WORK.WANT1."  & "WARNING: Variable record already exists on file WORK.WANT2."

I would really appreciate help optimising this code as I am new to SQL. 

Thank you!

data a;
input record type;
datalines;
1 5
2 8
3 2
4 1
5 100
6 21
;
run;

data b;
input record treat;
datalines;
1 8
5 9
7 12
8 200
;
run;

data c;
input record treat;
datalines;
2 10
3 8
9 11
10 200
;
run;

data want;
input record type treat;
datalines;
1 5 8
2 8 10
3 2 8
5 100 9
;
run;
/*This rough code generates the dataset that I want*/ proc sql; create table want1 as select * from a as A inner join b on a.record=b.record ; quit; proc sql; create table want2 as select * from a as A inner join c on a.record=c.record ; quit; proc sql; create table want_test as select * from want1 union select * from want2; quit;

6 REPLIES 6
Kurt_Bremser
Super User

DO NOT USE THE ASTERISK!

When doing joins, always use an explicit list of variables, and use table aliases to make sure from which dataset a variable is taken.

mkeintz
PROC Star

If each dataset is sorted by RECORD, and each dataset has no more than 1 record per RECORD, then you have a much simpler solution available in the DATA step:

data want;
  merge a (in=ina)  b (in=inb)  c (in=inc);
  by record;
  if ina=1  and (inb=1 or inc=1);
run;
--------------------------
The hash OUTPUT method will overwrite a SAS data set, but not append. That can be costly. Consider voting for Add a HASH object method which would append a hash object to an existing SAS data set