BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
🔒 This topic is solved and locked. Need further help from the community? Please sign in and ask a new question.
Phil_NZ
Barite | Level 11

Hi community,

I have two indistinguishable sets of code for solving data for two different variables (the codes for each set includes: proc sort, proc means, merge, proc rank, and trim data), the order of the lines of code and everything is similar between these two sets of codes (the difference is only the name of the variable).

I can get to the goal with these two sets of code, but since I saw the aesthetic SAS, I believe that there should be one way to merge these codes (especially they are resemblant to each other).  I am wondering if we can merge these two sets of code together. I am wondering if you can suggest me the way that I can search or follow.

Thanks in advance.

Thank you for your help, have a fabulous and productive day! I am a novice today, but someday when I accumulate enough knowledge, I can help others in my capacity.
1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
mkeintz
PROC Star

If you have a lot of common code preceding or following these two distinct data step, then you could embed them in a macro definition as below:

%macro mytask(dsn=);

**** preceding common code here *****;

%if &dsn=amihud %then %do;
    data amihud_;
      set finish_error;
      by Type;
      amihud=abs_r/trading_vol;
      year=year(date);
      if first.type then trading_vol=. and amihud=.;
    run;
  %end;
  %else %if &dsn=closing %then %do;
    data closing_;
      set finish_error;
      by Type;
      b=divide(pa_us-pb_us,mean_pa_pb);
      if b> 0.5*mean_pa_pb then b=.;
      year=year(date);
    run;
  %end;

**** trailing common code here *****;

%mend mytask;

Note I assume that these two distinct steps occur in precisely the same relative position within the common code.