BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
🔒 This topic is solved and locked. Need further help from the community? Please sign in and ask a new question.
Sica
Fluorite | Level 6

Hello!!

I am quite new in SAS programming, so I have some doubts how to merge dynamic datasets.

I have a table containing a variable with the names of multiple datasets I would like to merge into one single dataset.

I would like to know how I can merge all these datasets. All of them are placed in the same library.

Thank you!!

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
ballardw
Super User

@Sica wrote:
Sorry, I would like to append.

All the tables have the same columns. The library has more than 1000 datasets, and I would like to append around 80 of them. So I created a variable containing all the datasets I would like to append, but I do know how to it dynamically, only by typing dataset by dataset =/
I would like to do it in a smarter way.

Thank you.

It isn't clear what you mean by a "variable containing all the datasets".

If you mean that you have a dataset containing the names you want as one observation per name then something like this will work if there are not problems with variable properties the same. Note, not efficient but simple code:

proc sql;
   select datasetnames into : namelist separated by ' '
   from datasetwithnames
   ;
run;

data want;
   set &namelist.;
run;

Or if the names are "nice" such as common base name ending with sequence number you could use a list like

data want;
   set dsname1 - dsname10;
run;

There are other ways to build lists depending on the values. It might help to show the names you are concerned with so we don't have to make a lot of guesses.

View solution in original post

10 REPLIES 10
Reeza
Super User
Is the merge complicated or just a simple BY statement?

proc sql noprint;
select name into :merge_list separated by " " from listDatasets;
quit;

data want;
merge &merge_list;
by commonVariable;
run;
ballardw
Super User

First question: Merge or Append?