BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
skittles0810
Calcite | Level 5

Hello. I am very new to SAS (a student) and one of the problems I have been assigned has me finding the age difference between siblings using the file schoolsurvey.sas7bdat.

The variables are Family_id, Student_id, School, Grade, and DOB.

For the first part of the problem, I imported the data to a dataset called schoolsurvey.

For the second part of the problem, I created another dataset from schoolsurvey that contains only one observation for each 6th grader in the schoolsurvey set. They are both fine.

The third part of the problem asks me to "Combine the data set from part b) with the original data, and create a variable that is the age difference in years between the sixth grader and the sibling."

I know how to combine the data sets

data both;
set schoolsurvey sixthgraders;
run;

, but I do not know where to begin with finding the age difference.

I would assume, in English, that the logic would be "if student a has the same Family_id as student b, then take the difference of the years of their DOBs and that will be the AgeDifference." But I don't know how to put that into code that doesn't use proc sql; I only want to create a variable out of this.

Thank you.

6 REPLIES 6
Reeza
Super User
How do you know who is a sibling for each kid?
Can you show an example of how your data is structured - doesn't need to be real, fake is fine. You may also what to consider a MERGE instead of an APPEND (set) as you'll then have the data on the same row which is much easier to work with. Also, what happens if someone has more than one sibling? I have 5 running around somewhere in the world.
skittles0810
Calcite | Level 5

Thank you for the reply! The siblings are indicated by family_id--if they share the same family id, then they are siblings, and yes, sometimes there are more than one sibling to a sixth grader.

I'm not particularly apt at creating examples