BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
🔒 This topic is solved and locked. Need further help from the community? Please sign in and ask a new question.
Phil_NZ
Barite | Level 11

Hi all!

I am wondering how to create and replace a variable totally?

For example, I want to generate the variable x1 based on x, and I want to drop x, change the name of x1 to x

My code is:

data want (rename=(x1=x));
set have;
x1=x+2;
drop x;
run;

I am wondering if there is any other way or else to do so?

Warm regards.

Thank you for your help, have a fabulous and productive day! I am a novice today, but someday when I accumulate enough knowledge, I can help others in my capacity.
1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Tom
Super User Tom
Super User

If the variable is already numeric then just modify the VALUES and leave the name alone.

data want;
  set have;
  x=x*1000;
run;

If the variable is character and you want to make a new numeric variable that uses the same name then you will have to use rename (and perhaps also drop).  But there is no need to use dataset options on either the input or output dataset referece.

Just use the normal data step commands.

data want;
  set have;
  new_x = input(x,32.)*1000;
  rename new_x=x;
  drop x;
run;

View solution in original post

8 REPLIES 8
PaigeMiller
Diamond | Level 26

Rename x to something else when you do the SET command.

data want;
set have (rename=(x=old_x));
x=old_x+2;
drop old_x;
run;
--
Paige Miller
Phil_NZ
Barite | Level 11

Hi @PaigeMiller 

Thank you for your answer,

But I do not why we need to rename on SET command rather than DATA statement. I did a test with data sashelp.class as below:

data class1;
	set sashelp.class;
run;

data class2 (rename=(Age=birth));
	set class1;
run;

data class3;
	set class1 (rename=(Age=birth));
run;

The datasets class2 and class3 all have the column birth instead of Age.

Warm and thanks,

Phil.