BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
thanhnguyenhtl
Calcite | Level 5

Hi everyone,

I am new to SAS and world time converter. I have a file with UTC/GMT timezone that needs to convert to local time. The problem is that sometime 

If datetime is between 1 AM the last Sunday of March and 1 AM the last Sunday of October it is "summertime" in central Europe --> the date difference between local time and greenwich benchmark is -1 (not quite)

And about Australia sometimes we need to date -1 , for American sometimes we need to creat date +1 .

Could you guys please advise the code that I can capture the real local time in these circumstances?

Thank you so much and have a nice day 

sas.JPG

5 REPLIES 5
Reeza
Super User

See this page, specifically:

Write ISO 8601 Time and Datetime Values Based on the Time Zone

https://documentation.sas.com/doc/en/pgmsascdc/9.4_3.5/nlsref/n0px72paaaqx06n1ozps024j78cl.htm

I'm not sure if those account for the issues you've noted but it's somewhere to start. 

thanhnguyenhtl
Calcite | Level 5
Hi Reeza,

Thank you so much for that, I'll try to figure it out.
Patrick
Opal | Level 21

@thanhnguyenhtl You basically need to convert your datetimes to UTC and then you can use a format to show the datetimes in your local time-zone.

Should you struggle with getting this to work: If you provide sample data via a SAS data step then I'm sure someone will show you the way.

For your case it's really important that we get the "correct" data so suggest you use The DATA to DATA Step Macro to provide the sample data - or alternatively attach a .sas7bdat file here.

thanhnguyenhtl
Calcite | Level 5

Hi Patrick,

Thank you for your reply. I want to convert GMT time to the local time of each country, but not sure about the summer time of some special zone. Sorry that I cannot create sas file because I am using sas studio on web :D. And here is the idea of my code: 

data &out; set &out;
if gmt_offset >=0 then
localTime=time_g_+hms(gmt_offset,0,0);
else