BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
martkra1337
Calcite | Level 5

Hello Community,

just joined your Community a few hours ago. Hope you are having a grand day!

I started learning SAS/SQL not even a month ago. I moved on to macros and I cannot seem to puzzle out a programming bit that involves checking missing months and inserting them into the table.

Here's what my data looks like. The two main columns are SEGM_DATE and CLIENT_ID along with numerous other various columns, such as AVG_WEIGHT that consists primarily of numeric values.

SEGM_DATE CLIENT_ID AVG_WEIGHT
01MAR2012:00:00:00 1-ET-1500 8

01APR2012:00:00:00 1-ET-1500 10

01JUN2012:00:00:00 1-ET-1500  13

What I need to achieve is to loop over the table and insert any missing months into the table, filling all other_various_columns, such as AVG_WEIGHT with NULL values. For example:

MAR 1-ET-1500 8

APR 1-ET-1500 10

MAY 1-ET-1500  NULL

JUN 1-ET-1500  13

The second part, which I firmly believe I figured out, is to create two additional columns, one that is named AVG_WEIGHT_month_ago and carries value from previous month and AVG_WEIGHT_2mon_ago and carries value from two months ago, e.g.:

SEGM_DATE CLIENT_ID AVG_WEIGHT AVG_WEIGHT_month_ago AVG_WEIGHT_2mon_ago

MAR 1-ET-1500 8 NULL NULL

APR 1-ET-1500  10 8 NULL

MAY 1-ET-1500  NULL 8 10

JUN 1-ET-1500  13 NULL 10

Here is what my code looks like so far.

proc import datafile="D:/somefile.csv" out=csv out=challenge replace;
delimiter='09'x;
run;

%macro challenge_macro(lib=, table=);

proc sql;
select name into: vars separated by ' ' from dictionary.columns
      where libname="&lib" and memname="&table";
quit;
%put &vars;

options validvarname=v7;

data challengesolution (drop=SEGM_DATE CLIENT_ID);

      set &lib..&table;
      %local i column_name column_var;
      %do i=1 %to %sysfunc(countw(&vars));
      %let column_var = %scan(&vars, &i);
      %let column_name = %substr(&column_var, 1, 10);
      %put &column_var &column_name;