BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
🔒 This topic is solved and locked. Need further help from the community? Please sign in and ask a new question.
Traian
Fluorite | Level 6

I have around 26 variables ranging from ia1_1, ia1_2, ia_3 ... ia_26. I would like to apply a format to them.

data test_2;
set test_1;
Format ia1_1 format_test.;
run;

If i do this, i can apply it to one variable. I was wondering if there was a quick way to somehow apply it to all of these instead of manually doing it for each one. Note: these are not the only variables in the table. I have little experience in SAS and not knowing how to optimize simple things drives me crazy.

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
PaigeMiller
Diamond | Level 26
format ia1_1 ia1_2 ia_3 ... ia_26 format_test.;

Where the ... (triple dots) indicate you have to type in the variable names you want to have this format.

Please note that your variables don't form a pattern of variable names with consecutive numbers, if it did, you could do something like this:

format ia_1-ia_26 format_test.;

--
Paige Miller

View solution in original post

3 REPLIES 3
PaigeMiller
Diamond | Level 26
format ia1_1 ia1_2 ia_3 ... ia_26 format_test.;

Where the ... (triple dots) indicate you have to type in the variable names you want to have this format.

Please note that your variables don't form a pattern of variable names with consecutive numbers, if it did, you could do something like this:

format ia_1-ia_26 format_test.;

--
Paige Miller
Tom
Super User Tom
Super User