BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
☑ This topic is solved. Need further help from the community? Please sign in and ask a new question.
Hello_there
Lapis Lazuli | Level 10

Hi,

This is a data manipulation exercise. I'm trying to use the following data to macrotize the values in 4 out of the 5 variables. I'm new to the arrays, but i'm not sure what i'm doing wrong.

Here is the data:

data have; 
infile datalines dsd dlm=",";
	input word1 $ word2 $ word3$ word4$ word5$;
datalines;
We, are, here, now., pretzel
;
run;

My code doesn't work. I want to only macrotize the the values from word1 to word4. Thanks

data _null_; set have;

array word[4] word1--word4;
do i=1 to 4;

call symput('word[i]', word[i]);
end;
run;

The desired outcome:

I want to create 4 macro variables that are named the following, "word1", "word2", "word3", "word4", using only the variables word1, word2, word3, word4

Thanks

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
PaigeMiller
Diamond | Level 26

The first argument of call symput ought to be a text string containing the name of the macro variable you want to create. 

creates macro variables with the name of text string in the first argument to call symput, so you are creating macro variables with the (illegal) name of word[i] and so macro variables cannot be created. Instead, you need to make the first argument of call symput a valid text string, such as word1 word2 etc.

call symput(cats('word',i), word[i]);

The first argument, when the loop variable I is equal to 1, cats('word',i) equals word1 so a macro variable named WORD1 is created with the value of word[1]

--
Paige Miller

View solution in original post

4 REPLIES 4
PaigeMiller
Diamond | Level 26

The first argument of call symput ought to be a text string containing the name of the macro variable you want to create.