BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
🔒 This topic is solved and locked. Need further help from the community? Please sign in and ask a new question.
awardell
Obsidian | Level 7

Hello! 

I am working on a project, and to my understanding, I need a way to sum values down a column, by an id group: however my variable needs to sum only values from visits that were achieved from dates above it. Additionally, I will need to account for  another variable and subtract it when applicable. 

For example, say I am a doctor, with data on all of the visits from patients. If a patient needs stitches, I total the number of stitches needed for that visit. The total number of stitches should total the number of stitches received in the previous visit. For these data, I will need to account for stitches removed. Thus, if stitches were removed, they should be subtracted from the total number of stitches. From the given variables ID, visit_order, num_stitches, and num_removed, I need to create total_stitches, num_never_removed, and patientlevel_num_never_removed. Where the num_never_removed = total_stitches - num_removed. 

ID visit_order num_stitches num_removed total_stitches (to this point) num_never_removed (0s could replace missings here) patientlevel_num_never_removed
X 1 4 . 4 . 2
X 2 . 2 4 2 (= 4-2) 2
X 3 3 . 5 (= 4+3 - 2)) . 2
X 4 . 3 5 2 (= 5-3) 2
X 5 . . 2 (= 5+. -2)  2
A 1 5 . 5 . 0
A 2 . . 5 . 0
A 3 3 . 8 . 0
B 1 2 . 2 . 3
B 2 4 . 6 . 3
B 3 . 3 6 3 (=6-3) 3
B 4 12 . 15 (6+12 - 3) . 3
and so on             
data have; 
input ID $ visit_order num_stitches num_removed; 
datalines; 
X 1 4 .
X 2 . 2
X 3 3 . 
X 4 . 3
X 5 . .
A 1 5 .
A 2 . .
A 3 3 .
B 1 2 .
B 2 4 .
B 3 . 3
B 4 . 12

; 
run; 

I attempted dabbling with the lag function, but I could not get a solution that worked properly for each scenario. Thank you in advance for any help you can provide. I have been working on this problem for hours and have not been able to find a solution. 

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions